brave.

shutterstock_254682385

I don’t know if it’s still a thing, but I vividly remember people being obsessed with finding out the meaning of their names back in like the late 90s, early 00s. I was around age 7-9 when I somehow found out that my first name means brave. Ever since then I have had a special connection with that word.

Not that I feel I am brave AT ALL. Matter of fact, I think that’s something I’ve especially struggled with my whole life…being brave and courageous when I’m so fearful and worried. I know I’m not alone in this struggle, but for some reason the idea of being brave has always been important to me, yet I have failed repeatedly.

Right now I’m in a season of life where I need to be brave.

Let me be clear, nothing ‘major’ is going on. Things could always be a lot worse and I am beyond grateful for my good health and God’s provision in so many areas of my life, but, we all have different battles.

Right now I am at a crossroad. I am being faced with the uncertainty of the future and have some decisions to make. Sometimes I feel like I am drowning in fear. I am anything but brave.

I was driving home the other day when one of my favorite worship songs came on the radio: “You Make Me Brave” by Bethel Music. As I was singing this song to the top of my lungs, it just sort of dawned on me (y’all, this is not profound) that I will never be brave in and of myself. Just like the song says, He makes me brave. He is why I can be courageous in the midst of uncertainty.

For a great portion of my life, I strived to be what my name suggested.  Unfortunately, I was relying on my own abilities and strength to be this way. Instead, I have learned that the ONLY way I can be brave when I’m afraid or uncertain or anxious is to rely on my Father who makes me brave.

Are the uncertainties still there? Absolutely. Do I know what is coming around the corner? Nope. Am I still scared? Honestly, yes. The Bible does not say we will never experience fear, it just tells us we have no reason to hold onto it because of who our God is.

So, I am going to be more intentional in this and I want y’all to keep me accountable. When I am afraid, I will put my trust in God. I will run to the One who makes me brave.

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”-Deuteronomy 31:6

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.” -Psalm 56:3 

Listen to this song: You Make Me Brave – Bethel Music 

Leave a Reply

