celebration > comparison.

As you can see, I have not written for a while.
Partly because I have never wanted this to become like a deadline thing. I never wanted to have to “come up” with something in order to have content on this blog. That’s not what it’s for. This blog is to capture what God is teaching me and what He wants me to say. Whether no one reads it or 1,000,000 people read it… that’s the purpose. I write when He lays it upon my heart.

Secondly, with my workload in school and the other demands of life, it’s almost impossible to find time to sit and write.

So there is my quick blurb as to why I have been M.I.A.

Now, I wanted to share with you something that God has really been pressing on my heart lately. Y’all have probably heard this before and may have this area completely figured out, but I surely don’t. It has taken me YEARS to even hear the obvious message of what God has been trying to say.

It took recent life instances, an encouraging friend, a specific devotional, and many passages of Scripture before the lightbulb finally dinged over my head.

Here is what I’ve learned lately:
Comparing yourself to others does absolutely nothing but harm.

As a 23 year old without a career, still in grad school, not married, living back at home…. this. hits. home.

It’s hard for me not to look at people I went to high school or college with who seem to have it all figured out without a hint of jealousy or bitterness. Picture a bratty little girl throwing a tantrum when she isn’t getting her way. That’s how I’ve been lately.  “Ugh why am I stuck here God? It isn’t fair…. I want this and I want that”.

I’ll be candidly honest, it had gotten so bad that I would look at others’ successes with absolute resentment.

Then one day my dear friend told me about a devotional on the Bible app called The Comparison Trap. As I worked though the five days of this devo, I noticed how much of a struggle this area is for me.

One of the things that hit me like a ton of bricks was: instead of comparing yourself to others, you should celebrate others.

It seems so obvious right? But I truly believe this truth has changed my life. I’m sure I will still struggle with wanting what others have or wanting to be further in life than I am right now, but I will do my best to make a conscious effort to CELEBRATE others’ successes instead of acting as though their victories are my losses.

Did someone just get the kind of puppy you’ve always wanted? Celebrate that for them. Your best friend has lost 10 pounds when you can’t even lose one? Celebrate that for them. Someone just got engaged on your timeline and you are struggling in a season of singleness? Celebrate that for them. A couple in your church just found out they’re having twins and you are struggling to get pregnant? Celebrate that for them.

The list goes on and on. Build others up and celebrate when God blesses them. There is no need to harbor bitterness when you feel your life does not compare to others. Focus on YOUR blessings and what God has done for you, and celebrate what He is doing for your friends and loved ones.

Letting their successes bring you jealously and bitterness will do nothing but destroy you. Share in their joy, seek the Lord always, and know that His timing is always perfect.

1 Thessalonians 5:11 says, “Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.” 

Practical application: Instead of dwelling on what you DON’T have, try sitting down and making a list of what God HAS blessed you with recently. I bet the list will be longer than you think!

Leave a Reply

