sitting still at a green light.

greenlight

Have you ever been stopped at a traffic light, perhaps distracted by something else, when all of a sudden you hear a loud honk coming from behind you? The light has turned green and you weren’t paying attention. Immediately you push the gas pedal, perhaps a little embarrassed and irritated with the impatient driver behind you. I mean come on, it was just an accident. It would be absolutely absurd to purposefully sit through a green light. No one would ever do that.

Well I hate to tell ya… but as believers we are sometimes sitting still when we should clearly be going. I mean lets face it, when the Creator of all things says “Go”… you go! Know what I’m referring to yet? Yep, that’s right…The Great Commission. As believers, we are ALL told to go (Matthew 28:16-20), not just a chosen few. One of my biggest discoveries this past year was when I realized this was indeed a command. It isn’t called ‘The Great Suggestion’ after all. God wants us to go, yes, but He also commands us to go. Sometimes He may even be honking His horn, but we ignore Him. We sit still when the light is green.

Let me rewind to a few months ago and give you a little timeline of what God has been doing in my life. After I graduated from college in May and moved back home in August, I was determined to figure out the next chapter of my life-on my own. I’ve been a Christian for a while now, but one with a major control issue and a bad attitude to boot (still working on that). I would give God parts of my life or take His opinion into strong consideration before stubbornly doing my own thing. When I moved back home, I knew that I wanted to get really involved in church again, and take this gap year to grow in all areas of my life. Little did I know what He had in store.

As September approached, God was just really working in my life. I knew I was a Christian, but something was a little off, and I felt a strong tug in my heart. Not even knowing what the reason for this ‘tug’ was, I began to fight it. I was unnecessarily angry and defensive. Turns out this ‘tug’ was an internal war of control. Long story short, at the end of the month, I fully surrendered my daily life to Him-every single detail. Now, I would be lying if I said that I never try to play tug-of-war with Him, but I am fully committed to daily surrendering. After I rededicated my life, a lot started happening in my College and Career Bible study group concerning missions. A friend and I were randomly talking and I think they were saying how they felt called to go on a mission trip this summer. They asked me if I would ever consider going on one and, although I do not remember exact dialogue, I can tell you I probably scoffed as if repulsed by the idea and said that I just didn’t feel as though God was calling me to do that. I just wasn’t interested. I was afraid God was going to call me to go to the deep jungles where I would be completely isolated and have no Netflix or chicken nuggets for the rest of my life… UGH, can you imagine?! The horror!

One night, we had a speaker from the missions organization Word of Life come to our Bible Study. He gave a presentation about various mission trips happening this summer, and then something caught my attention. He started talking about the Great Commission… only he was saying things I did not want to hear. UGH! ITS A COMMAND?! It was like hearing a honk behind you at a green light and realizing you must go. A little embarrassed, a little irritated… I moved my foot towards the gas pedal.

africa
About the trip: 

I have been called specifically to go on a mission trip with Word of Life to South Africa and Mozambique this summer. This will be a three week Student Fusion trip, which means it will be a group of college kids that will train in New York for a week before departing to South Africa. I have been blessed with the opportunity to go as a counselor on this trip! Although this is my first international mission trip, and I feel so unqualified, I am so excited to lean on the Lord for support and guidance as I am given the chance to support and help guide these students. To Him alone be the glory!

While in Africa, our team will be involved with community outreach, leading various children’s programs, and door-to-door and community evangelism. I am so excited to share the Gospel and God’s amazing love with these people! I’m also thrilled for the unknown! God is in complete control, and I cannot wait to see what He has in store for me and everyone else on this trip.

 

What I need from you: 

First and foremost, I need your prayers. Pray that God will continue to work in my life, and prepare me now and for the next few months before my trip. Pray that He prepares the hearts of the other counselors/leaders and students heading out on this adventure as well. Please also pray for us while we are actually there. Pray for our safety, for us to radiate His love every single day to all we meet, and for us to stay focused. Most importantly, pray that the people we are ministering to would hear His call and feel His presence. Pray for His will to be done every step of the way!

Secondly, I need you to pray that God will provide the funds needed for this trip. Because of the location and length of this trip, it is pretty costly. I have to raise the full $3,489 by May 10th. I know that this is absolutely nothing to such a BIG God, but to little ole me, that is a BIG number. Please pray that God would provide (as He always does). I also sincerely ask that you would prayerfully consider financially supporting me, as I step out in faith to serve the Lord. You would be more than a financial supporter, you would be a part of this journey and ministry! You would be helping others hear the Gospel!!

I have made a GoFundMe account for my trip, and will put the link for it at the end of this post. I also will include links to Word of Life’s mission page and to the WOL Student Fusion page that goes into more detail about our trip to South Africa/Mozambique. I will be posting updates on here in the next few months leading up to my trip, and then I will be doing a daily online journal during my trip-if possible. If not, then I will still try to update events of what happened each day after I return. Either way, YOU get to be a part of the journey, and YOU will have made a difference for eternity. YOU will be helping to spread the Gospel.

Thank y’all so much for reading this long post! I am sorry to be such a chatty Cathy…or I guess a chatty Casey. Please contact me if you have any questions!

Love, Casey

 

GoFundMe || Word of Life  || WOL Student Fusion

 

Leave a Reply

